If you are from outside of California but are planning to visit the state’s cities like Los Angeles or Santa Monica, you would most likely have to be aware of its road rules and driving laws. Whether you are bringing your own vehicle or planning to rent a car, it is important that you adhere with the driving regulations and at least have a grasp of the key laws. Basically, they are found in the California Driver’s Handbook, which is the simplified version of the laws set forth by the California Vehicle Code (CVC).
Meanwhile, here are some of the important road rules and laws you need to consider when you drive any vehicle as someone from outside the State of California:
- Speed limit. When you are driving on a suburban or city road, your speed limit should be at 25 miles per hour (40 kilometers per hour). If you are driving down a freeway or a highway, your speed limit should be 55 mph (90 kph). Unless there is a speed limit sign that says otherwise, you must assume that the road you are on has either of the two.
- Having your car registered as a nonresident of California. If you bring your vehicle into California, or buys a vehicle in the state as a non-resident, you must know that there are some vehicles that cannot be registered in the state. That is unless your vehicle was manufactured to meet the state’s emission standards, or whether you or the vehicle is qualified for an exemption.
- Car booster seat laws. If you are driving out to California with your family, you must make sure that your child is correctly restrained in a booster seat or safety seat in your vehicle’s back seat. They can be restrained by your vehicle’s safety belt if he or she is already 8 years old or 4’9” tall.
- Use of handheld phones and texting while driving is not allowed. California is one of th states in the U.S. that ban cellphone use for all drivers unless there is hands-free device connected to it. Drivers below 18 years are not allowed to use cellphones, even with hands-free. Texting is likewise banned for all drivers.
- Encountering other road users. When encountering pedestrians trying to cross the street, always remember that you must yield right of way, especially when at marked or unmarked crosswalks. Also, it is important that you are aware of the other road users, especially motorcyclists and bicyclists. Finally, when an accident happens, driving away from the scene could spell trouble for you; you may likely be slapped with a hit-and-run charge.
California’s driving laws prioritize safety for not just you, but for other motorists as well. Being an outsider in California, you need to be aware of the accidents that are commonplace in the state’s roads, and in case you are involved in one, you can always seek an expert Los Angeles vehicle accident lawyer. Exercising your rights enables you to obtain damages for the losses you may have incurred.
To read more about vehicle accident in California, you can visit this website: http://www.personalinjurydefenders.com/vehicle-accidents.html